It’s not dumpster diving if you’re a Book Baby!

on

image

I want to take a moment to acknowledge the importance of second hand book stores and bargain bins, because it makes me sad to see all these books collecting dust. They’re looking for a good home, Book Babies! Just like you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, you shouldn’t judge it by its current home.

Second hand book stores are a gold mine! People who are not Book Babies have a tendency to read a book (or part of it), and then toss it off their single shelf to land in their spring cleaning piles. Unlike Book Babies who keep every book they’ve ever owned for the chance to reread it in the future, Non-Book Babies send discarded opportunities for their imagination (Yes, I intended to sound dramatic) to second hand book stores. Just because they didn’t like it or have a chance to read it, doesn’t mean you won’t. I make an effort to go to the second hand stores by my house at least once a month. By the next visit, a new stock of books has been displayed for my taking. Not only do I find books that I’ve been eyeing for a while, including best sellers like The Goldfinch, Gods Behaving Badly, The Wicked series, and plenty of others, but I also discover some rare gems that prove to be fantastic!

Bargain bins in your local book store are not where novels and their authors are meant to die off. Just because it’s in a bargain bin doesn’t make it a bad book! I used to work at a book store, so I know that reducing the price of a book could be because of overstock, a new publisher fazing out the old publisher, a new edition, change in format, and plenty of other reasons! A bargain book could hold the best story you’ve ever read. It’s also a great way to discover new authors. If you can’t afford to pay 20$ for a book that you can’t vouch for because it’s a brand new author or just one you’ve never had a chance to try, use your daily frappuccino money to buy their bargain book! If you don’t like it, it’s less of a loss. Of course there’s always the library, but they don’t always carry the obscure books bargain bins do; the selection is somewhat limited to bestsellers at libraries in my opinion. I even found a couple of bestsellers in the bargain bins! It’s also a great place to find classic literature because there is always a new publication cover coming out every couple of years, so the old ones go on sale to make space for the new.

Second hand stores and bargain bins also tend to have additional sales more often. My local second hand store always has a buy four get the fifth free policy. Needless to say, I took advantage of this a couple of days ago. And yesterday I took advantage of a sale at my local book store, buy three get the fourth free, buy diving deep into the bargain bin! I’m super excited to give these bargain bin authors a read, and to finally read the bestsellers I snagged at the second hand shop!

So make sure to take advantage of the stores and sales closest to you. Every novel has the potential to take you on a wild ride if you let it! Take a leap of faith, Book Babies!

image

4 Comments Add yours

  1. mizschoneng says:

    I love second hand books…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad! Have you discovered any rare gems? I love finding an obscure author that no one has heard of, and then discovering that their book is actually one of the better things I ever read.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. mizschoneng says:

        Some charity shops here have stephen king’s novels..but there’s one book I found called Shame by Jasvinder Sanghera. I haven’t read it and it got good reviews on goodreads so I am excited.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Stephen King is always a good choice for second hand store since he has so many books, you’re bound to find at least 5 on the shelf.

        I just looked up Shame and the synopsis sound really interesting. I found a book called Pride, Prejudice and Jasmin Field by Melissa Nathan that was highly entertaining.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

