Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

image

I wanted to read this book before I saw the movie, as most Book Babies tend to do. The commercial made me think it was just a sweet romance where the main characters overcome their difficulties and live happily ever after. Figured it would be a good go-between novel (something I wasn’t attached to that provided mild entertainment as I searched the bookshelves for the next great read).

BUT I WAS SO WRONG.
SO
SO
SO
WRONG.

This book ‘kalima’-ed my heart out, and Indiana Jones wasn’t there to save me.

Regina and Rumpelstiltskin took turns punching into my chest, ripping out my glowing heart, and speaking into it to tell me how to feel and act while reading. (Once Upon A Time reference)

MY HEART WAS RIPPED OUT, STOMPED ON, PUNCTURED WITH A BAYONET, ROLLED OVER BY A BULLDOZER, AND SPAT ON FOR GOOD MEASURE.

I’m sure you get the point.

I was not prepared for all this hurt. And yet, I regret nothing.

I think my favourite part about this story is the fact that the ending wasn’t happy. It was real. It made sense. I wasn’t mad at Will for sticking to his plan, even if it broke Louisa’s heart.

Jojo did a beautiful job at addressing the issue of assisted suicide. I thought I was 100% sure about my thoughts and feelings towards this issue, but this story left me questioning everything. I can’t even decide which way I’m leaning more towards because it changes daily.

Louisa is my absolute favorite character because she is feisty, determined, humorous, playful, and even childlike at times. It doesn’t matter how old you are, or even what gender; you will find something in Louisa that you can relate to. She has all the best moments in the story, and it’s not just because it’s told through her voice. Her relationship with her sister is genuine, her birthday celebration and notable joy at receiving the bumble bee tights is joyous, her reaction in the restaurant at the race track makes you cheer, and her plee to Will while on the beach is squeal worthy. I don’t think I’ve cried this hard while reading a novel in a long time. Jojo certainly knows how to take you on an emotional roller coaster. I wish this book had a sequel just to give me an update on how Louisa is doing. She’s like that family member you hope to hear from at least once a year to catch up, because you care for them more than you realized, and even when she says she’s okay you’re still worried.

I normally don’t like books about illness, tragic accidents, or related medical dramas because there just too sad. I mean, I read novels to escape similar situations that I come across in real life. Me Before You has actually converted my reading preferences enough to possibly give Jodi Picoult a chance…
Maybe.
I’ll think about it further.
I wasn’t a fan of the movie My Sister’s Keeper, but a friend mentioned that her books were far better. Maybe I’ll try one if someone recommends it in the comments below. Just make sure it’s the best one (at least in your opinion)!

I honestly have no complaints about Me Before You. I hope the movie does it justice. 

I really really really really REALLY hope you enjoy this book!
Get lost in Jojo’s masterpiece, Book Babies!

Leave a Reply

